SegMetrics Tracking Pixel: How To Use An Exclusion Parameter


In This Article

  • Overview
  • How to add the parameter
  • Questions

Overview

In certain scenarios, the necessity to complete forms or opt in for leads arises, potentially causing them to be grouped together due to the SegMetrics tracking pixel. To address this, we’ve created a workaround that involves the use of exclusion parameters. By incorporating exclusion parameters, you gain the ability to enable or disable tracking for specific forms and accurate tracking for each lead. This guide outlines how to implement URL exclusion parameters effectively to optimize lead tracking and maintain data accuracy.

How to Add the Parameter

To use the exclusion parameter, you’ll want to add any of the options below in the URL.

To turn it on for 12 hours:

?seg-pixel=enable

Ex: https://example.com/?seg-pixel=enable


To set a specific time to expire:

?seg-expire=$DAYS 

Ex: https://example.com/?seg-pixel=disable&seg-expire=365

The above parameter will exclude SegMetrics tracking for the designated amount of day or until cookies are cleared.


To disable:

?seg-pixel=disable 

Ex: https://example.com/?seg-pixel=disable


Questions:

1.Why is there a limited time applied to the URL exclusion parameter?

There may be times when you do want to track a browser and forget to re-enable it. This feature will turn it on for 12 hours and then remove itself afterwards unless you choose to set the time to expire or disable it.

2. What happens if I disable using the disable parameter then an hour later use the enable parameter with it override the disable one?

You’ll be able to switch them on and off as you like. If you decide not to do anything, the disabled blocker will turn off after 12 hours and it will start tracking again.

3. If we have staff logged into WordPress Websites while they are working on customer shopping carts, can we block them from there?

The snippet won’t be on the WordPress admin pages, so that won’t cause a problem. However, viewing the front end would still work.

We can't automatically turn off for people logged into WordPress admin, because a lot of people use logged in WordPress users for membership sites, etc. and it could cause issues.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us